Public dataSEC filings · NYSE: HUBSArchived pricing pages

Pricing and monetization

HubSpot seats pricing migration

A pricing case on a real change. On 5 March 2024 HubSpot moved to seats-based pricing, and this memo and Excel model work out how it should move its existing customers onto it, from its FY2023 10-K and its own pricing pages as the Internet Archive kept them. The memo recommends keeping today's price at migration and raising prices in steps of at most 10% a renewal, with a churn trigger to stop.

The HubSpot seats-migration model running in the browser: the three ways to migrate with their three-year revenue change, the scenario switch, driver sliders, yearly results and the segments.

Pricing is one of the calls finance owns in a software company, and the hard part is usually not the new price list but moving the customers who already pay the old one. I made a call of this kind on my own product, Meridian: when the first pricing did not work, I made the core product free and kept one feature paid.

The memo

Two pages to HubSpot's CFO, written from public data only. The first sentence is the recommendation; every number in it is read from the workbook after Excel recalculates it.

Download the PDF · 119 KB

Moving HubSpot's existing customers to seats pricing

ToHubSpot's CFO (an exercise on public data)
DecisionHow to move existing customers to the seats pricing launched on 5 March 2024
BasisFY2023 10-K, HubSpot's archived pricing pages and announcement; workbook, all 20 checks OK

Recommendation. Move existing customers to seats at the price they pay today, then raise only the accounts whose new list price is higher, by at most 10% of the bill at each renewal until they reach list; leave accounts whose new list price is lower on their current bill until they ask to remove seats; and stop the steps if accounts that take one leave at a rate 7.3 points above comparable accounts that do not. Over three years this adds $66.0m of subscription revenue against keeping the old prices, weighted across my three scenarios, against $22.4m for the 5% plan HubSpot announced and $9.6m for moving everyone to the new list at once. It is the best of the three in every scenario, and it roughly breaks even ($0.4m) in the bear case, where the other two lose money.

What HubSpot changed. On 5 March 2024 HubSpot moved new customers to seats-based pricing for all Hubs and tiers. In its words, it would “remove seat minimums for Sales Hub and Service Hub and introduce the Core Seat and View-Only Seat”; view-only seats are free and unlimited for paid portals. Its archived pricing pages show what that meant. Sales Hub Professional went from $450 a month including 5 paid users, plus $90 for each additional user, to $90 a month per seat; Sales Hub Enterprise went from $1,500 including 10 paid users, plus $150 each, to $150 per seat. Marketing Hub kept its $800 and $3,600 monthly prices, but where the January 2024 page priced no seats at all, the March page includes 3 and 5 seats, with additional seats from $45 and $75 a month. For existing customers HubSpot said: “Pricing will remain the same at the time of migration, but customers may see a migration-related price increase of approximately 5% or less at the time of subscription renewal.”

What it does to the existing base. So only two groups see a different bill: Sales Hub customers with fewer users than the old minimums pay less, and Marketing Hub teams with more editors than the included seats pay more. Everyone else pays the same. I anchor the base on the FY2023 10-K: 205,091 customers at $11,384 a year each, a run-rate of $2,334.8m. HubSpot does not report customers by Hub, tier or team size, so the split into eleven segments is my judgment, tied to those two numbers. At the full new list, the customers whose price rises would pay $60.8m a year more and those whose price falls $43.3m a year less. How fast each of those arrives, and how many customers leave over a rise, is what separates the three ways to migrate.

The three options.

Three years against the old pricesBearBaseBullWeighted
A: everyone to the new list at the first renewal−$34.5m$7.1m$58.7m$9.6m
B: HubSpot's plan, same price, then at most 5%−$13.2m$24.3m$54.3m$22.4m
C: same price, then steps of at most 10% to list$0.4m$67.8m$128.0m$66.0m

The scenarios move three judgments together: how many customers leave per point of increase above the 5% they absorb (0.25 in the bull case, 0.50 in the base case, 0.80 in the bear case), what share of extra Marketing Hub users take a free view-only seat instead of a paid one (15% to 45%), and what share of customers below the old minimums remove seats at each renewal (25% to 60%). In the base case's first year C adds 0.99 points of net revenue retention, against 103.9% in 2023; A adds 0.10. Weights are 25%, 50% and 25%.

The options I rejected. Moving everyone to the new list at once (A) is the cleanest for billing, but it hands the whole $43.3m a year cut to the price-down customers at their first renewal, before any of the upside arrives, and the one-time rises lose about 381 customers in the base case. It loses $34.5m in the bear case. HubSpot's announced plan (B) loses no customers to price in the model, because no increase passes the 5% I assume customers absorb, but it stops there: by the third year it collects $34.4m from the price-up customers against $53.2m under C, while giving away exactly the same $33.9m to seat cuts. C beats it by $13.6m even in the bear case, and by at least $16.8m at every point of the two-way table on the two drivers that matter most.

Why steps of 10%. The cap curve on the Sensitivity sheet runs C with every step size from 0% to 30%. Steps of 10% give the most over three years in the base case, $67.8m; steps of 5% give $64.7m; a cap of 15% gives $58.1m and larger caps slightly less, because one larger rise costs more customers than it brings in. The stop trigger comes from the churn curve: C stays ahead of B until each point of increase above 5% costs 1.46 points of churn, against 0.50 in the base case. A 10% step is 5 points above what customers absorb, so the trigger is 7.3 points more churn among accounts that took a step than among those that did not, read at each renewal cohort; if it is crossed, fall back to B for the accounts not yet at list.

What would change my view. The result depends most on the customer mix, which HubSpot knows from its billing data and I do not. With half as many Marketing Hub teams above the included seats, C's three-year gain falls to −$5.0m; with half again as many Sales Hub customers below the old minimums, it falls to $27.1m. Those two counts are the first numbers to replace. If 60% of the price-down customers cut seats at every renewal, C still gains $43.9m; if churn per point is above 1.46, B is the better plan.

Risks and what the model leaves out. Leaving price-down customers on their old bill until they ask sits uneasily with an announcement that promised more control over the total cost of ownership; telling every such customer at migration that they can drop unused seats at renewal is part of the plan, and the model already assumes many of them will. The model covers existing Sales Hub and Marketing Hub customers on Professional and Enterprise. It leaves out Service Hub (its pricing page before the change does not load in the archive, and its May 2024 page announced a further rise in Enterprise seats for 24 June 2024), Starter, new customers, customers holding several Hubs, add-on and contact charges, onboarding fees and the growth a seat-based customer adds over time. Discounts, the split into segments, churn per point and the view-only share are my judgments; the Inputs sheet gives the reason for each.

What happened afterwards. HubSpot's later filings cannot separate the migration from new customers, so they neither confirm nor refute this model. They do name the change: the 10-Qs for the second and third quarters of 2024 give “the impact of our new seats pricing model” as one reason average subscription revenue per customer fell, and the FY2024 10-K says the same for the year, when it went from $11,384 to $11,343 while customers grew to 247,939. Net revenue retention was 103.9% in 2023 and 102.2% in 2024 as first reported; the FY2025 10-K restates both on a new method.

The model

Pick a scenario, or move a driver, and the three ways to migrate recalculate: three-year revenue, the yearly path, customers lost and every segment. The logic is the workbook's, line for line.

Download .xlsx · 38 KB
HubSpot_Seats_Migration_ModelFY2023 10-K · archived price lists
Base ties · years add up

C · Phased to list

Base case · against keeping the old prices

Same price at migration, then rises in steps of at most the cap a renewal until list; cuts only when a customer removes seats.

Three years
$67.8m
Year 3 alone
$19.2m
Year 3 from price rises
$53.2m
Year 3 from cuts
−$33.9m
Customers lost
195
ABCRevenue change by year, all three options
$0m$10m$20m$30mYear 1Year 2Year 3
SegmentCustomersBill / yrSeat price changeOn the billC: year 3
Sales Pro · 2 users10,255$11,082−$2,754−24.9%−$22.1m
Sales Pro · 4 users8,204$11,082−$918−8.3%−$5.9m
Sales Pro · 10 users10,255$22,165no change0%$0.0m
Sales Ent · 6 users1,231$36,941−$6,120−16.6%−$5.9m
Sales Ent · 30 users2,871$110,824no change0%$0.0m
Marketing Pro · 3 editors14,356$19,702no change0%$0.0m
Marketing Pro · 6 editors12,305$19,702+$964+4.9%$11.9m
Marketing Pro · 12 editors6,153$19,702+$2,892+14.7%$14.3m
Marketing Ent · 5 editors1,436$88,660no change0%$0.0m
Marketing Ent · 12 editors2,461$88,660+$3,749+4.2%$9.2m
Marketing Ent · 30 editors1,641$88,660+$13,388+15.1%$17.8m

Run-rate $2,334.8m = 205,091 customers × $11,384 (FY2023 10-K). The 11 segments hold 83% of it; their split is a judgment, and the rest of the base keeps its revenue.

How it was built. I built it with an AI agent system I run. It wrote the pipeline and the workbook to my brief, I went through it myself, and a separate check re-derives its figures from the source data. Every input comes from HubSpot's 10-K, with its accession number, or from HubSpot's own pages as the Internet Archive kept them, with the snapshot address, or is labelled as a judgment with the reason for it.

www.hubspot.com/pricing/sales/enterpriseBefore · 1 December 2023
HubSpot's Sales Hub pricing page archived on 1 December 2023: Professional $450 a month including 5 paid users, Enterprise $1,500 including 10.
HubSpot's page as archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine: snapshot 20231201184809
www.hubspot.com/pricing/sales/enterpriseAfter · 17 April 2024
HubSpot's Sales Hub pricing page archived on 17 April 2024: Professional $90 a month per seat, Enterprise $150 per seat.
HubSpot's page as archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine: snapshot 20240417194300; the same prices in snapshot 20240524202104
Sales Hub, as HubSpot's own page showed it before and after. Professional went from $450 a month including 5 paid users to $90 per seat, and Enterprise from $1,500 including 10 to $150 per seat. At the old minimum the price is the same; below it the new price is lower, so the change only ever cuts a Sales Hub bill.
www.hubspot.com/pricing/marketingBefore · 18 January 2024
HubSpot's Marketing Hub pricing page archived on 18 January 2024: Professional $800 a month and Enterprise $3,600, with no seats named.
HubSpot's page as archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine: snapshot 20240118151823
www.hubspot.com/pricing/marketingAfter · 5 March 2024
HubSpot's Marketing Hub pricing page archived on 5 March 2024: the same prices including 3 and 5 seats, with additional seats from $45 and $75 a month.
HubSpot's page as archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine: snapshot 20240305200055
Marketing Hub kept its $800 and $3,600 prices, but the page that named no seats in January now includes 3 and 5, with more from $45 and $75 a month. Larger marketing teams pay more: at the full new list that is $60.8m a year from the existing base, against $43.3m a year of Sales Hub cuts.
HubSpot_Seats_Migration_Model.xlsx · Cover
The workbook's Cover sheet: three-year revenue change of the three options in each scenario, the stop trigger and the check count
Over three years the phased plan adds $66.0m against keeping the old prices, weighted across the scenarios, against $22.4m for HubSpot's announced 5% plan and $9.6m for moving everyone to the new list at once. It is ahead in all three scenarios, by $13.6m over B even in the bear case.

The full analysis

Each part opens on click.

Why HubSpotFive candidates, scored on what the company itself documents and on how well they fit a tech finance interview

The change had to be one a US-listed software company made and documented itself, in its filings or on its own pages, with the price list before and after readable from the Internet Archive. I scored five candidates from 1 to 5 on each test, after reading the sentences each one's latest 10-K or 10-Q gives the change.

CompanyDataFitThe change, in the company's termsWhat it documentsWhy it does or does not fit
HubSpot · HUBS55Seats-based pricing for all Hubs and tiers from 5 March 2024: seat minimums removed for Sales Hub and Service Hub, a paid Core Seat and a free View-Only Seat; existing customers migrated laterThe 10-K and 10-Qs name the new seats pricing model as a driver of Average Subscription Revenue per Customer and of customer growth; the company's own announcement states the migration terms; archived Sales Hub and Marketing Hub pages show both price lists; Customers, revenue per customer and net revenue retention are reported every year. (0000950170-25-018873)A seat-structure change on about 205,000 customers with a real open question, how to move the existing base, and the metrics a model needs to be anchored.
Unity Software · U43Changes to the pricing model for Create Solutions announced in Q3 2023, cancelled in Q3 2024 before they took effect, with a return to a subscription-based model and price increases for gaming customersThe Q3 2024 10-Q describes the announcement, the boycott and the cancellation; the pricing page is archived. (0001810806-24-000227)The most-discussed pricing reversal in software, but the change was cancelled before it took effect, so there is no rollout left to plan, and the customer metric Unity reports (customers above $100,000) does not describe the base the new model would have charged.
Salesforce · CRM34Agentforce sold through a consumption-based model alongside per-user licencesThe 10-K says Agentforce is sold on a consumption-based model but does not describe the price points or the change between them; those are only on pricing pages archived from February 2025. (0001108524-26-000060)A current AI pricing question, but no disclosed customer count or revenue per customer for Agentforce to anchor a base on.
Smartsheet · SMAR (until January 2025)32A new user subscription model in 2023-2024The 10-K speaks of changed pricing and packaging models in general terms; the pricing page is archived often. (0001366561-24-000062)Taken private in January 2025, so no longer a listed company; its last filings do not describe the change or its terms.
Adobe · ADBE23Generative credits included in Creative Cloud and Firefly plansThe 10-K says plans include a monthly number of generative credits; it states no change to how existing subscribers are billed. (0000796343-26-000003)Credits are an allowance inside a subscription, not a change of the billing basis; Adobe does not report customer counts.

HubSpot scores highest on both. Its filings name the new seats pricing model as a reason revenue per customer moved, its own announcement states what existing customers would face, its archived pages show both price lists, and it reports customers, revenue per customer and net revenue retention every year, which is what a model of the base needs. The open question is also the one a finance team would own: not the new price list, which was published, but how to move about 205,000 existing customers onto it.

What HubSpot changed, in its own wordsThe announcement, the price lists before and after, and what one customer pays
ir.hubspot.com/news/upcoming-changes-to-hubspots-pricingPublished January 30, 2024 · archived 22 May 2024
HubSpot's investor-relations page 'Upcoming changes to HubSpot's pricing', published on 30 January 2024, as archived
HubSpot's page as archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine: snapshot 20240522171430

“With this change, we'll remove seat minimums for Sales Hub and Service Hub and introduce the Core Seat and View-Only Seat.” “View-Only Seats, which are free and unlimited for paid portals, will give visibility to those who don't require edit access.” “The updates to HubSpot's subscription pricing model will go into effect globally on March 5, 2024 (March 6, 2024, in the Asia Pacific region) for new customers. There will be no immediate impact to current customers.*” “Pricing will remain the same at the time of migration, but customers may see a migration-related price increase of approximately 5% or less at the time of subscription renewal.”

The price lists below are the archived pages' default view, which is the price paid upfront for an annual commitment. They are list prices; the model applies the same discount to old and new. Sales Hub and Service Hub lost their seat minimums; the Service Hub page before the change does not load in the archive, and the May 2024 page announced a further change (“On June 24, 2024, the price of Service Hub Enterprise seats will increase to $150/mo/seat.”), so the model leaves Service Hub out.

Exhibit 1Monthly list price for one customer, by number of users who need edit access
UsersSales Pro, oldSales Pro, newSales Ent, oldSales Ent, newMkt Pro, oldMkt Pro, newMkt Ent, oldMkt Ent, new
1$450$90$1,500$150$800$800$3,600$3,600
2$450$180$1,500$300$800$800$3,600$3,600
3$450$270$1,500$450$800$800$3,600$3,600
4$450$360$1,500$600$800$845$3,600$3,600
5$450$450$1,500$750$800$890$3,600$3,600
6$540$540$1,500$900$800$935$3,600$3,675
8$720$720$1,500$1,200$800$1,025$3,600$3,825
10$900$900$1,500$1,500$800$1,115$3,600$3,975
12$1,080$1,080$1,800$1,800$800$1,205$3,600$4,125
15$1,350$1,350$2,250$2,250$800$1,340$3,600$4,350
20$1,800$1,800$3,000$3,000$800$1,565$3,600$4,725
30$2,700$2,700$4,500$4,500$800$2,015$3,600$5,475

Source: PriceBook sheet, formulas on the archived prices. Red: the customer pays more than before; green: less. New Marketing Hub prices assume every editor takes a paid seat.

Price on the pageValueQuotedSnapshot
Sales Hub Professional, before: monthly price$450“$450/mo”20231201184809
Sales Hub Professional, before: paid users included5“Includes 5 paid users”20231201184809
Sales Hub Professional, before: each additional user$90“$90/mo per additional user”20231201184809
Sales Hub Enterprise, before: monthly price$1,500“$1,500/mo”20231201184809
Sales Hub Enterprise, before: paid users included10“Includes 10 paid users”20231201184809
Sales Hub Enterprise, before: each additional user$150“$150/mo per additional user”20231201184809
Sales Hub Professional, after: per seat$90“$90/mo/seat”20240417194300, 20240524202104
Sales Hub Enterprise, after: per seat$150“$150/mo/seat”20240417194300, 20240524202104
Marketing Hub Professional: monthly price, before and after$800“$800/mo”20240305200055
Marketing Hub Professional, after: seats included3“Includes 3 seats”20240305200055
Marketing Hub Professional, after: each additional seat$45“Additional seats start at $45/mo”20240305200055
Marketing Hub Enterprise: monthly price, before and after$3,600“$3,600/mo”20240305200055
Marketing Hub Enterprise, after: seats included5“Includes 5 seats”20240305200055
Marketing Hub Enterprise, after: each additional seat$75“Additional seats start at $75/mo”20240305200055
The customer base205,091 customers × $11,384, split into 11 segments (a judgment)

HubSpot does not disclose customers by Hub, tier or number of users, so this split is a judgment. About a third of customers are put on a Professional or Enterprise Sales Hub or Marketing Hub, as their main seat-priced product, because the filings say customer growth came mostly from lower-priced Starter products; the rest stay outside the model with their revenue unchanged. Team sizes are chosen to sit on both sides of each old minimum (5 and 10 paid users) and each new allowance (3 and 5 seats). The split is tied to the disclosed base: customers × revenue per customer, and the revenue not explained by list prices is spread over the modelled customers as other subscription revenue the change does not touch.

SegmentShare of customersCustomersBill a yearSeat price change a yearOn the bill
Sales Hub Professional · 2 users5.0%10,255$11,082−$2,754−24.9%
Sales Hub Professional · 4 users4.0%8,204$11,082−$918−8.3%
Sales Hub Professional · 10 users5.0%10,255$22,165no change0.0%
Sales Hub Enterprise · 6 users0.6%1,231$36,941−$6,120−16.6%
Sales Hub Enterprise · 30 users1.4%2,871$110,824no change0.0%
Marketing Hub Professional · 3 editors7.0%14,356$19,702no change0.0%
Marketing Hub Professional · 6 editors6.0%12,305$19,702+$9644.9%
Marketing Hub Professional · 12 editors3.0%6,153$19,702+$2,89214.7%
Marketing Hub Enterprise · 5 editors0.7%1,436$88,660no change0.0%
Marketing Hub Enterprise · 12 editors1.2%2,461$88,660+$3,7494.2%
Marketing Hub Enterprise · 30 editors0.8%1,641$88,660+$13,38815.1%

The run-rate is $2,334.8m. The segments' old seat-priced revenue, at list less a 15% discount, is $800.6m; customers outside the segments are put at $3,000 a year each; the remaining $1,132.4m is spread over the segment customers as other subscription revenue the change does not touch (contacts, other Hubs, add-ons), 1.41 times their seat-priced revenue. That makes the segments 83% of the run-rate, which is why a seat change of a few thousand dollars is only a few per cent of most bills.

Options, scenarios and assumptionsEvery judgment with its reason; every fact with its source
OptionWhat it doesBearBaseBullWeighted
A · Everyone to the new list at onceEach existing customer moves to the new list price at its first renewal; rises and cuts land in full.−$34.5m$7.1m$58.7m$9.6m
B · HubSpot's announced planSame price at migration, then a migration-related increase of at most 5% at renewal; a customer's bill falls only when it removes seats.−$13.2m$24.3m$54.3m$22.4m
C · Phased to list (recommended)Same price at migration, then rises in steps of at most 10% of the bill a renewal until list; a bill falls only when the customer removes seats.$0.4m$67.8m$128.0m$66.0m

Each option is measured against keeping every existing customer on the old prices, over the first three renewals. A customer whose price rises by more than it absorbs may leave in that year, and then its whole bill is lost; under B and C a customer whose new price is lower keeps paying the old bill until it removes seats.

Scenario driverBearBaseBullWhy
Extra churn per point of increase above what customers absorb0.800.500.25No public data on HubSpot's price elasticity. In the base case a customer facing a 15% rise, 10 points above the 5% it absorbs, leaves with a 5% chance in that year; the bear case is 8%, the bull case 2.5%.
Marketing users above the included seats who take a free view-only seat45%30%15%View-only seats are free and unlimited (HubSpot's announcement), so users who only read reports need no paid seat. Under the old Marketing Hub page no seat was priced, so the share of light users is unknown.
Share of customers below the old minimum who cut to the seats they use, each renewal60%40%25%Under a price-neutral migration the bill only falls if the customer removes seats at renewal; many will not look. Under repricing to list every one of them falls at once.
JudgmentValueWhy this value
Price paid as a share of list85%Partners, annual prepay and promotions discount list prices; HubSpot does not disclose the average discount. Applied to old and new prices alike, so it scales the changes but not their sign.
Yearly revenue per customer outside the modelled segments$3,000Mostly Starter customers (list $20 to $50 a month per Hub) plus Professional customers whose main Hub is Service, Content or Operations; a blended guess, tested from $1,500 to $4,500.
Increase a customer absorbs without extra churn5%HubSpot itself told existing customers to expect approximately 5% or less at renewal, which reads as the size it judged routine. Tested from 3% to 8%.
Phased plan: largest step per renewal10%The decision variable of the recommended plan. Ten per cent is the best three-year result on the cap curve in the base case (the workbook checks it).
Weight of the bear case25%Bear and bull equally likely, base twice as likely.
Weight of the base case50%As above.
Weight of the bull case25%As above.
Customers below the old minimums, against the split1.00×1 = the split above; tested from 0.5 to 1.5 times the share of Sales Hub customers with fewer users than the old minimum.
Customers above the new seat allowance, against the split1.00×1 = the split above; tested from 0.5 to 1.5 times the share of Marketing Hub customers with more editors than the included seats.
Fact from the 10-KValueForm · accessionWhere
Customers, 31 December 2023205,09110-K · 0000950170-24-015277Key business metrics table: Customers 205,091
Average Subscription Revenue per Customer, 2023$11,38410-K · 0000950170-24-015277Key business metrics table: $11,384
Net Revenue Retention, 2023103.9%10-K · 0000950170-24-015277Key business metrics table: 103.9%
Subscription revenue, 2023$2,123.5m10-K · 0000950170-24-015277Subscription $2,123,479 thousand
Which drivers matterA tornado on the three-year result of the phased plan, then two-way tables on its top two drivers
Driver · low end → high endAt the low endAt the high endSwing
Customers above the new seat allowance · 0.50× → 1.50×−$5.0m$129.6m$72.8m
Customers below the old minimums · 0.50× → 1.50×$107.6m$27.1m$40.7m
Marketing users taking view-only seats · 15% → 45%$86.6m$37.6m$30.2m
Increase customers absorb · 3% → 8%$43.0m$81.4m$24.8m
Below-minimum customers cutting seats each renewal · 25% → 60%$92.0m$43.9m$24.2m
Churn per point above what customers absorb · 0.25 → 0.80$79.1m$54.2m$13.6m
Price paid as a share of list · 75% → 95%$60.5m$70.1m$7.3m
Revenue per customer outside the segments · $1,500 → $4,500$68.4m$62.8m$5.0m

The phased plan gains $67.8m over three years in the base case. The two drivers that move it most are both about the customer mix, which HubSpot knows from its own billing and the public filings do not show: how many Marketing Hub teams sit above the included seats, and how many Sales Hub customers sit below the old minimums. The view-only share, the rise customers absorb and the seat-cut rate come next; churn per point matters least of the behaviour judgments, because the phased steps keep each rise small.

Exhibit 2Three-year revenue change of C, by customers above the new seat allowance (down) and customers below the old minimums (across)
Teams above allowance ↓ · below minimums →0.50×0.75×1.00×1.25×1.50×
0.50×$34.8m$14.9m−$5.0m−$24.8m−$44.7m
0.75×$71.3m$51.4m$31.5m$11.7m−$8.2m
1.00×$107.6m$87.7m$67.8m$47.9m$27.1m
1.25×$143.1m$122.0m$100.4m$79.0m$57.7m
1.50×$172.8m$151.1m$129.6m$108.0m$86.2m

Source: Sensitivity sheet, an Excel data table over the live Model, base case; the page's engine gives the same 25 cells.

Exhibit 3C minus B over three years, on the same grid
Teams above allowance ↓ · below minimums →0.50×0.75×1.00×1.25×1.50×
0.50×$16.8m$17.5m$18.2m$18.8m$19.4m
0.75×$28.6m$29.4m$30.2m$31.0m$31.7m
1.00×$41.7m$42.7m$43.5m$44.4m$45.1m
1.25×$55.9m$56.6m$56.8m$57.0m$57.2m
1.50×$68.5m$68.8m$68.9m$69.3m$69.8m

Source: Sensitivity sheet, an Excel data table over the live Model, base case; the page's engine gives the same 25 cells.

C stays ahead of B at every point of the grid, by at least $16.8m, because both give away the same cuts and C collects more of the rises. What the mix changes is whether migrating pays at all: with half as many teams above the allowance and half again as many customers below the minimums, even C loses money over three years.

Step size and the stop triggerThe cap curve and the churn curve, read off the model
Exhibit 4Three-year revenue change of C by the largest step per renewal
Largest step0.0%2.5%5.0%7.5%10.0%12.5%15.0%17.5%20.0%22.5%25.0%27.5%30.0%
C, three years−$79.0m$15.4m$64.7m$66.8m$67.8m$62.9m$58.1m$58.0m$58.0m$58.0m$58.0m$58.0m$58.0m

Source: Sensitivity sheet, a one-way Excel data table, base case.

With no steps at all, C only gives away the cuts. Steps below the 5% customers absorb cost nothing in churn but take longer to reach list; steps of 10% reach the largest rises in two renewals and give the most, $67.8m. Larger steps reach list in one renewal and lose more customers than they bring in.

The churn curve runs the model with every churn rate per point from 0 to 3. C stays ahead of B up to 1.46 points of churn per point of rise above 5%, 2.9 times the base case's 0.50. A 10% step is 5 points above what customers absorb, so at break-even an account that takes a step is 7.3 points more likely to leave than one that does not. That is the stop trigger: read it on each renewal cohort, and if it is crossed, keep the remaining accounts at B's 5%.

What happened afterwardsHubSpot's reported metrics after the change, as first reported in each 10-K and 10-Q
YearCustomersRevenue per customerNet revenue retention, as first reportedSubscription revenue10-K
2023205,091$11,384103.9%$2,123.5m0000950170-24-015277
2024247,939$11,343102.2%$2,569.5m0000950170-25-018873
2025288,706$11,414103.5%$3,063.9m0001193125-26-046646

The FY2025 10-K moved net revenue retention to a new method and restated the two earlier years: “We reported Net Revenue Retention of 102.2% in 2024 and 103.9% in 2023 under the previous methodology.”

Quarter to 2024-03-31 · $11,447

“The increase in Average Subscription Revenue per Customer was primarily driven by a continued demand for our Professional and Enterprise products, as well as the addition of customers from the acquisition of Clearbit, offset by continued purchases of our lower-priced Starter products.” (0000950170-24-057772)

Quarter to 2024-06-30 · $11,215

“The decrease in Average Subscription Revenue per Customer was primarily driven by continued purchases of our lower-priced Starter products and the impact of our new seats pricing model, offset by a continued demand for our Professional and Enterprise products, as well as the addition of customers from the acquisition of Clearbit.” (0000950170-24-092843)

Quarter to 2024-09-30 · $11,235

“The decrease in Average Subscription Revenue per Customer was primarily driven by continued purchases of our lower-priced Starter products and the impact of our new seats pricing model, offset by a continued demand for our Professional and Enterprise products, as well as the addition of customers from the acquisition of Clearbit.” (0000950170-24-122373)

Quarter to 2025-03-31 · $11,038

“The decrease in Average Subscription Revenue per Customer was primarily driven by continued purchases of our lower-priced Starter products and the impact of foreign currency translation primarily attributable to the increase in the value of the U.S. Dollar relative to the Euro and British Pound Sterling, offset by increased demand for our Professional and Enterprise products.” (0000950170-25-067055)

Quarter to 2025-06-30 · $11,310

“The increase in Average Subscription Revenue per Customer was primarily driven by increased demand for our Professional and Enterprise products and the impact of foreign currency translation primarily attributable to the decrease in the value of the U.S. Dollar relative to the Euro and British Pound Sterling, offset by continued purchases of our lower-priced Starter products.” (0000950170-25-104104)

Quarter to 2025-09-30 · $11,578

“The increase in Average Subscription Revenue per Customer was primarily driven by increased demand for our Professional and Enterprise products and the impact of foreign currency translation primarily attributable to the decrease in the value of the U.S. Dollar relative to the Euro and British Pound Sterling, offset by continued purchases of our lower-priced Starter products.” (0001193125-25-267056)

Quarter to 2026-03-31 · $11,722

“The increase in Average Subscription Revenue per Customer was primarily driven by increased demand for our Professional and Enterprise products and the impact of foreign currency translation primarily attributable to the decrease in the value of the U.S. Dollar relative to the Euro and British Pound Sterling, partially offset by continued purchases of our lower-priced Starter products.” (0001193125-26-212122)

Quarter to 2026-06-30 · $11,800

“The increase in Average Subscription Revenue per Customer was primarily driven by continued adoption of our Professional and Enterprise products and the impact of foreign currency translation primarily attributable to the decrease in the value of the U.S. Dollar relative to the Euro and British Pound Sterling, partially offset by continued purchases of our lower-priced Starter products.” (0001193125-26-335232)

The filings name the new seats pricing model as one reason revenue per customer fell in the second and third quarters of 2024 and in the year, and as a source of new Professional and Enterprise customers. They do not separate existing customers from new ones, so they can neither confirm nor refute the model above.

Where each memo number comes fromAll 76 figures in the memo, each with the workbook cell it is read from
In the memoWhat it isWorkbook cell
10%Largest step per renewal in the phased planInputs!D40
7.3%Extra churn in one step at which C stops beating B (stop trigger)Sensitivity!E78
$66.0mWeighted three-year revenue change, CCases!V12
$22.4mWeighted three-year revenue change, BCases!N12
$9.6mWeighted three-year revenue change, ACases!F12
$0.4mBear case, three years, CCases!V8
$450Sales Hub Professional, before: monthly priceInputs!C18
5Sales Hub Professional, before: paid users includedInputs!C19
$90Sales Hub Professional, before: each additional userInputs!C20
$90Sales Hub Professional, after: per seatInputs!C24
$1,500Sales Hub Enterprise, before: monthly priceInputs!C21
10Sales Hub Enterprise, before: paid users includedInputs!C22
$150Sales Hub Enterprise, before: each additional userInputs!C23
$150Sales Hub Enterprise, after: per seatInputs!C25
$800Marketing Hub Professional: monthly price, before and afterInputs!C26
$3,600Marketing Hub Enterprise: monthly price, before and afterInputs!C29
3Marketing Hub Professional, after: seats includedInputs!C27
5Marketing Hub Enterprise, after: seats includedInputs!C30
$45Marketing Hub Professional, after: each additional seatInputs!C28
$75Marketing Hub Enterprise, after: each additional seatInputs!C31
205,091Customers, 31 December 2023Inputs!C11
$11,384Average subscription revenue per customer, 2023Inputs!C12
$2,334.8mRun-rate subscription revenue entering 2024Model!H4
$60.8mYearly seat revenue change at full list, price-up customersModel!C40
$43.3mYearly seat revenue change at full list, price-down customersModel!C41
−$34.5mBear case, three years, ACases!F8
$7.1mBase case, three years, ACases!F9
$58.7mBull case, three years, ACases!F10
$9.6mWeighted three years, ACases!F12
−$13.2mBear case, three years, BCases!N8
$24.3mBase case, three years, BCases!N9
$54.3mBull case, three years, BCases!N10
$22.4mWeighted three years, BCases!N12
$0.4mBear case, three years, CCases!V8
$67.8mBase case, three years, CCases!V9
$128.0mBull case, three years, CCases!V10
$66.0mWeighted three years, CCases!V12
5%Increase a customer absorbs without extra churnInputs!D39
0.25Churn per point, bullInputs!E36
0.50Churn per point, baseInputs!D36
0.80Churn per point, bearInputs!C36
15%View-only share, bullInputs!E37
45%View-only share, bearInputs!C37
25%Seat-cut share per renewal, bullInputs!E38
60%Seat-cut share per renewal, bearInputs!C38
0.99Year 1 change in points of net revenue retention, C, baseModel!E38
103.9%Net revenue retention, 2023Inputs!C13
0.10Year 1 change in points of net revenue retention, A, baseModel!C38
25%Weight, bearInputs!C47
50%Weight, baseInputs!C48
25%Weight, bullInputs!C49
$43.3mYearly cut at full list, price-down customersModel!C41
381Customers lost to increases by year 3, A, baseModel!C37
$34.5mBear case, three years, A (loss)Cases!F8
5%Increase a customer absorbs without extra churnInputs!D39
$34.4mYear 3 revenue from price-up customers, B, baseModel!D35
$53.2mYear 3 revenue from price-up customers, C, baseModel!E35
$33.9mYear 3 revenue lost to seat cuts, B and C, baseModel!E36
$13.6mC minus B, bear case, three yearsCases!C15
$16.8mSmallest C minus B on the two-way tableSensitivity!I32
$67.8mThree years at the best cap, baseSensitivity!C96
$64.7mC at a 5% cap, base, three yearsSensitivity!C84
$58.1mC at a 15% cap, base, three yearsSensitivity!C88
1.46Break-even churn per point, C against BSensitivity!E77
0.50Churn per point, baseInputs!D36
5Step size minus the increase customers absorb, in pointsInputs!D40 − Inputs!D39
−$5.0mC, three years, half as many teams above the seat allowanceSensitivity!C17
$27.1mC, three years, 1.5 times as many customers below the old minimumsSensitivity!D16
60%Seat-cut share, high end of the tornadoInputs!G38
$43.9mC, three years, seat-cut share at its high endSensitivity!D13
1.46Break-even churn per pointSensitivity!E77
$11,384Average subscription revenue per customer, 2023Lookback!D5
$11,343Average subscription revenue per customer, 2024Lookback!D6
247,939Customers, 31 December 2024Lookback!C6
103.9%Net revenue retention, 2023 (first reported)Lookback!E5
102.2%Net revenue retention, 2024 (first reported)Lookback!E6
How it is built and checkedOne engine for the page and the workbook's formulas; 20 integrity checks; 7,094 values compared

Data

HubSpot's 10-K filings for 2023 to 2025 and 10-Q filings to June 2026 from SEC EDGAR (the XBRL company facts check each 10-K's revenue), and six of HubSpot's own pages from the Internet Archive, each loaded once in a browser because the prices are filled in by JavaScript. The pipeline reads every price from the rendered text and stops if a page shows the archive's “problem loading” message instead.

Model

The Model sheet runs all three options side by side for one scenario: each segment's old and new bill, the increase each year, the customers kept and the revenue against the old prices. Excel data tables run it for the three scenarios, the tornado, two two-way tables, the churn curve and the cap curve.

Checks

All 20 checks OK in the workbook, among them: the segments and the rest add back to the disclosed customers and to customers × revenue per customer, the old and new Sales Hub prices agree at the old minimums, B never passes 5%, C never passes the new list and never steps down, and the two-way drivers are the tornado's top two. A planted error in a price or a bill turns them red.

Page = workbook

The pipeline sets the workbook's scenario and override cells on 24 settings, lets Excel recalculate with its data tables, and compares 7,094 values with the page's engine, including every data table; no value differs. A planted $10 difference turns the comparison red.

What the checks caught

Three things were caught while building. The archived Sales Hub captures from July and September 2023 show Enterprise at $1,200 a month including 10 users and $120 for each extra one; by December HubSpot had raised it to $1,500 and $150, so comparing those captures with the new $150 seat would have shown a rise that the 5 March change did not make. The model now reads the last capture before the change that loads, and a check confirms the old and new prices agree at each old minimum. The first parity run found the two-way and churn-curve checks failing whenever an override was typed, because the sensitivity tables were picking up the override; they now always use the base case. And the memo writer stopped on its own draft, which said every cap of 15% or more gives the same result; 15% gives a little more than the larger caps, and the sentence now says so.

Limits and next

HubSpot does not disclose customers by Hub, tier or team size, its discounts, or how customers respond to price, so the segment split, the discount, churn per point, the view-only share and the seat-cut share are judgments; the tornado shows the mix judgments matter most. The model covers existing Sales Hub and Marketing Hub customers on Professional and Enterprise, each by its main Hub. It leaves out Service Hub, Starter, new customers, customers on several Hubs, contact tiers and add-ons, onboarding fees, and the seats a customer adds as it grows.

Next: replace the segment split with the billing system's count of customers by Hub, tier and users, then re-read the tornado.

Files

Built from HubSpot's public SEC filings and its own pages as archived by the Internet Archive; HubSpot is not involved, and nothing here is inside information or investment advice.